SKIP TO PAGE CONTENT
Over the shoulder view of student sitting in student work area accessing Canvas on her laptop

Canvas

Making the Move to Canvas

University of the Incarnate Word is changing learning management systems. We're moving from Blackboard to Canvas.

Spring of 2021 will be our last semester using Blackboard. All courses will be created in Canvas beginning in the summer term of 2021.

Access to Blackboard ends May 31, 2021.

Migration to Canvas

Why are we moving to Canvas? Open
What courses are being migrated? Open
What about Master Courses? Open
How do I add or delete someone from my Canvas course? Open
Will organizations be migrated to Canvas? Open

Instructor Resources

Canvas Hours - Small Group Professional Development Open
Growing with Canvas - Online, Asynchronous Course Open
Request a Sandbox Open
One-on-One Consults Open
Canvas Help Menu + Canvas Guides + Video Tutorials Open
24/7/365 Support Open

Student Resources

Canvas Help Menu Open
24/7/365 Support Open

Canvas and Cloud Storage

Course Space Limit Open
Video, Audio, and Large Powerpoint Files Open
Canvas audio/video feedback Open
UIW Faculty on Canvas

Blackboard Migration Schedule

Summer 2020 Courses
Already in Canvas
Fall 2020 Courses
Already in Canvas
Spring 2020 Courses
Beginning of June 2021

Need Canvas Help Right Now?

Chat or speak with Canvas Support, available 24/7/365.

Log in to your Canvas account and check the Help button at the bottom of the vertical UIW Canvas Menu bar.

Canvas Support Team

Kathleen Bottaro
Director of Instructional Technology
bottaro@uiwtx.edu
(210) 805-2519

Dr. Susan Hall
Director of the Center for Teaching and Learning
hall@uiwtx.edu
(210) 283-5030

Melissa Dagne
Assistant Director of Instructional Technology
dagne@uiwtx.edu
(210) 829-6077
Health Professions
Book a Consult with Melissa

Adela Gott
LMS Administrator
agott@uiwtx.edu
(210) 829-3946
Nursing Program

John Miller
Convergent Media Manager
jmiller@uiwtx.edu
(210) 832-2156

Terrence Peak
Instructional Designer
tpeak@uiwtx.edu
(210) 829-3920
Book a Consult with Terrence

  • School of Business & Administration
  • School of Mathematics, Science, and Engineering
  • College of Humanities and Social Sciences departments including:
    • Pastoral Studies
    • Philosophy
    • Political Science
    • Psychology
    • Religious Studies
    • Sociology
    • Criminal Justice
    • History

Noah Stroehle
Instructional Designer
stroehle@uiwtx.edu
(210) 832-2179
Book a Consult with Noah

  • School of Professional Studies
  • School of Media and Design
  • Dreeben School of Education and Teacher Education
  • College of Humanities and Social Sciences departments including:
    • Art
    • Asian Studies
    • English
    • Modern Languages
    • Music
    • Theatre Arts