Honors Council

The Honors Council, with representatives from each of the university's schools and colleges, sets the policies and outcomes for the Honors Program. It oversees all program elements, including the review of project and thesis proposals, and participates in the selection of each year's new students.

Honors Council Members

Veronica Acosta

Veronica Acosta, Ph.D., Council Chair

Professor of Biology
School of Mathematics, Science and Engineering

Stephanie Grote-Garcia

Stephanie Grote-Garcia, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Teacher Education
Dreeben School of Education

Adeola Coker

Adeola Coker, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Feik School of Pharmacy

Blaine Jacobs

Blaine Jacobs, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
School of Osteopathic Medicine

Rosa Cardenas

Rosa Cardenas, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Physics
School of Mathematics, Science and Engineering

Diana Allison, Ph.D., ASID

Diana Allison, Ph.D., ASID

Program Coordinator, Instructor of Interior Design
School of Media and Design

Kelly Pittman

Kelly Pittman

Instructor of Accounting
H-E-B School of Business

David Armstrong, Ph.D.

David Armstrong, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of English
College of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences

Joanna Soles

Joanna Soles, DHSc, ATC, LAT

Assistant Professor of Athletic Training
Ila Faye Miller School of Nursing and Health Professions

Sarah Luna

Sarah Luna, PT, DPT

Assistant Professor
School of Physical Therapy

Richard Trevino

Richard Trevino, O.D., F.A.A.O.

Associate Professor / Director of Faculty Affairs / Director of Residency

Kevin Vichcales

Kevin B. Vichcales, Ph.D.

Dean of the College of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences

Sandy McMakin

Sandy McMakin

Dean of Student Success

Jessica De La Rosa

Jessica De La Rosa

Director of Admissions

Jean Loden

Jean Loden

Director, Honors Program